Trivendra Singh Rawat resigns as Uttarakhand CM – who can be next chief minister?
Home Latest News Trivendra Singh Rawat resigns as Uttarakhand CM – who can be next chief minister?
Latest News - March 9, 2021

Trivendra Singh Rawat resigns as Uttarakhand CM – who can be next chief minister?

Uttarakhand chief minister Trivendra Singh Rawat on Tuesday handed over his resignation to Governor Baby Rani Maurya. With his resignation, 60-year-old Rawat joined the league of BJP leaders who could not complete their full 5-year term as the chief minister. It can be said that Rawat too failed to break this ‘jinx’ for the party.
BJP leaders Bhagat Singh Koshiyari, BC Khanduri (twice), Dr Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ and Trivendra Singh Rawat could not complete their terms as the chief minister. Rawat took oath as the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand on March 18, 2017 and served in office for nearly four years.
Addressing a press conference after meeting the Governor, the incumbent CM thanked the BJP for giving him the opportunity to become the chief minister of Uttarakhand. The outgoing CM said that he will work together with anyone who will be chosen by the party to lead the state.
The big question now arises that who will be the next chief minister of Uttarakhand? There are a few names doing the rounds including Ajay Bhatt, Anil Baluni, Dhan Singh Rawat and Satpal Maharaj. 

Dhan Singh Rawat 

With the resignation of Rawat, state minister Dhan Singh Rawat has emerged as a frontrunner to replace Trivendra Singh Rawat as the chief minister.
Dhan Singh Rawat, 50, is a Minister of State in Uttarakhand and MLA From Srinagar Garhwal constituency in Pauri district.
Dhan Singh Rawat has a double MA degree, one in History and the other in Political Science, and has also done PhD in Political Science.

Ajay Bhatt 

State BJP President, Ajay Bhatt, is the Lok Sabha MP of the BJP and represents Nainital – Udhamsingh Nagar in the lower house of the Parliament. He also held the post of leader of opposition in the state legislative assembly during the Congress rule.
He held several portfolios in the Government of Uttarakhand as a Minister. He is regarded as one of the senior-most BJP leaders of Uttarakhand and has also served as MLA from Ranikhet Legislative Assembly.

Satpal Maharaj

Another name doing the rounds for chief minister post is the heavyweight former Congressman, Satpal Maharaj. He is currently the tourism, cultural and irrigation minister in the cabinet of the Government of Uttarakhand. He also represents the Chaubattakhal constituency in the State Legislative Assembly.

Anil Baluni

The name of Anil Baluni has emerged in the list of frontrunners for the Uttarakhand CM Post. Anil Baluni represents Uttarakhand in the Rajya Sabha and is also a spokesperson in the BJP. He is considered to be a close aide of BJPs top leadership including Union Home Minister Amit Shah and PM Modi. Baluni also has a major hold on the people in Uttarakhand.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Check Also

World is still waiting for U.S. climate target on eve of Biden summit By Reuters

3/3 © Reuters. FILE PHOTO: U.S. President Biden speak at the White House in Washington 2/3…